Heavens Embroidered Cloths

IMG_4965

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths

En-wrought with golden and silver light

The blue and the dim and the dark cloths

Of night and light and the half-light

I would spread the cloths under your feet

 

But I, being poor, have only my dreams

I have spread my dreams under your feet

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

William Butler Yeats

I had an amazing experience paddling in the sea, on an almost deserted beach, with the sun setting over the Lleyn Peninsula. As it set, the almost-full moon rose behind me. I could have stayed there all night. Such awe-inspiring beauty stirring my heart.

Images: Sunset at Black Rock Beach, N W Wales  15th August, 2016

21 thoughts on “Heavens Embroidered Cloths

  1. I love those stolen moments, where we are quiet enough to truly ‘see’. Recently my husband and daughter and I had paddled to a lonely island and while swimming, realized that 2 otters were swimming with us. My daughter was close enough to hear that one was chewing! I so love those divine surprises. There is something about being alone on or near water that does the soul good, isn’t there?

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a lovely experience, Melody. Yes, there is something special and so divine near these sacred spaces. My spirit is definitely lifted. ♥

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I once wrote my interpretation of this poem (your photo is magnificent, to go with the poem!), here are my reflections on the poem:

    The poet presents images of divine light woven into symbolic cloths which are his prayers and wishes for his readers — that being:
    May your foundation be one of divine light love and beauty [I would spread the cloths under your feet].
    However, he being mortal, cannot give these things — only God can; therefore he comments on his state [But I, being poor, have only my dreams] his true humility, as opposed to false humility, shows his deep understanding of the limitations of human blessings — and that it is only God that is great and can do all things.
    The next part expresses his vulnerability and compassion for the reader [I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams]. His dreams, though he cannot give them since he is a mortal, are so strong within him that he is hurt when his dreams for humans to walk on the path of light and truth are trampled on by behaviour that is the opposite of his dreams and prayers.
    This is a poem of the cry of the soul for peace on earth.

    Pete Segeer. in his poem: Oh Had I A Golden Thread, borrows from this theme as old as time and conveys the same message.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

