Welsh Castles: Conway Castle

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Built for King Edward I, by Master James of St George, the castle is amongst the finest surviving medieval fortifications in Britain, from the grandeur of its high towers and curtain walls to its excellent state of preservation. An estimated £15,000 was spent building the castle, the largest sum Edward spent in such a short time on any of his Welsh castles between 1277 and 1307

Two barbicans (fortified gateways), eight massive towers and a great bow-shaped hall all sit within its distinctive elongated shape, due in part to the narrow rocky outcrop on which the castle stands.

Some say it is the most magnificent of Edward I’s Welsh fortresses. To get the full picture, head for the battlements. Breathtaking views across mountains and sea.

For more information on things to do and see in the area, visit www.attractionsofsnowdonia.com

Images of Conway Castle, North Wales by Isabella Rose [September 2013]

40 thoughts on “Welsh Castles: Conway Castle

  1. Thank you so much for these shots of one of my favorite castles (Harlech, Beaumaris and Kidwelly are other favorites, along with others). I visited Wales twice just to visit castles, and you could certainly tell those of Master James of St. George from all the others – what a brilliant man. But they still couldn’t tame the Welsh!!!!!

    Like

    • Thank you, my friend. My apologies for the delay in replying as I have been off wordpress for a few weeks. Blessings ♥

      Like

  2. Great photos and interesting background information, Lizzy. I do love the castles on the other side of the creek. And they often look so dramatic and mystic, when there is fog or drizzle. Thank you for sharing the photos 🙂
    Have a wonderful Sunday
    groetjes, Francina xxx

    Like

    • Thank you, dear Francina. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. More to follow of Caernarfon castle. Sun-day blessings from my heart to yours ♥

      Like

  3. You’ve done grand Conway Castle justice with your photos here Izzy !
    Looks like a great place to visit and take in the history .

    Like

    • Thank you, dear Poppy. It is one of my favourite places. I’m staying in Porthmadog this week with a friend of mine, so hope to get to Caernarfon to visit the castle there. There’s so much to see and do in the Snowdonia area. Glad you enjoyed your trip to Cornwall and your tutoring with Chillbrook. I plan to visit him for the workshop, maybe next year. Blessings, my friend ♥

      Like

    • Thank you, dear Rebecca. I’m touched that you loved my homeland so much. Next August will soon come and we arrange a get- together. Sun-day blesings ♥

      Like

    • Thank you, dear Wendy. I’ll be visiting Caernarfon castle this week, so more photos to follow. Hope you’re feeling better. Sun-day blessings from my heart ♥

      Like

  4. Wow wow wow! How did I miss these lovely photos. I love castles. I have never seen one in person but I feel like I have looking at your photos! They are massive and grand! 🙂 Have a super weekend IsabellaRose 🙂

    Like

  5. I love Conway Castle! The whole Conway bay area is amazing with the water, sailboats and beautiful mountains near by! Have you ever been to the Caernarfon Castle? The castle is as wonderful as the Conway one and I bet it would be great for pictures!

    Like

    • Thank you, Jess. Yes, I’ve been to Caernarfon castle years ago. I’m staying over in Porthmadog this week, and plan a return visit there. Am also hoping to get to Llanberis too, depending on the weather!! Sun-day blessings, dear friend.

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

