A Surprise Visit to the Marble Church

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

St Margaret’s Church, also known as the Marble Church, was built between 1856 and 1860,  and is located just off the A55 Expressway [Junction 25]. The church tower stands at 62 metres high and is visible for miles around.

The church was built with a type of limestone resembling porcelain. Expert stonemasons were recruited from around North Wales.  The interior features fourteen kinds of marble from Ireland, England, France and Italy. The Victorian stained-glass windows are stunning.

Immediately to the west of the church is Kinmel camp, which was a military camp located in the grounds of Kinmel Hall.  The camp was used by Canadian troops during the First World War.  The churchyard contains the graves of numerous victims of the Spanish flu pandemic of 1918-1919 in the camp.  In total there are 112 Commonwealth service personnel commemorated here from World War 1.

The church is open daily for private prayer and meditation and visitors are very welcome.

32 thoughts on “A Surprise Visit to the Marble Church

  1. Okay – now you’re not playing fair! It’s hard enough to sit idly by from across the pond and look at beautiful Wales from afar, but when you bring me churches/cathedrals, marble, gray stone, angels and stained glass windows — I can’t just drop everything and hop on a plane!!! But your pictures make me want to do exactly that; my thanks.

    Like

  2. I tend to think of ornate red brick architecture when thinking of Victorian Churches Izzy so quite unusual in my eyes but maybe I haven’t really thought about it before !
    Only four years in the building .. there must have been a permanent scene of frenzied work and craftmanship going on ….

    Like

    • That didn’t strike me either, Poppy. I just checked the dates for myself and Queen Victoria reigned from 1837 till her death in 1901 and the church was built during her reign. Thanks for the insights, my dear friend. ♥

      Like

    • Thank you, Al. I was heading back home from the coast and decided to stop off last minute to see this church – a serendipitous decision for the caretaker was just about to lock up. I asked permission to take some photos and this kind soul waited for me!! Blessings, my friend.

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

