Let The Sun Set On The Past

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

It is 2.30am on Sunday morning and I should be fast asleep.  But I need to clear my mind, to write down my thoughts, and I want to share them with you:

I realised yesterday that I was holding on to the past, trying to take it forward with me into the future.  It doesn’t work.  I tend to hang onto certain things way past their sell-by date.  I don’t mean in a physical way. I’m not a material hoarder by any means.  This is about emotional hoarding.  I have attachments, a need to hold on tightly to things that have served me in years gone by.

But they have no part in my future, and now I must release them and let them go.  I must allow the sun to set on my past.

It is time to move forward into a bright new future.  Clutching onto the past limits forward movement.  Progress is impeded. Life is for living fully in the present moment, not for dwelling in the dead and buried past. What an important lesson I have learned!!  And what a relief and a release!!  Now I can go back to sleep. Thanks for listening. See you again soon.

Image: Sunset over Ynys Mon, North Wales by Isabella Rose

26 thoughts on “Let The Sun Set On The Past

  1. I totally and absolutely agree with your title, and with Lauren Bacall’s smart statement: 🙂
    ”I don’t live in the past, although your past is so much a part of what you are that you can’t ignore it. But I never look at scrapbooks. I could show you some, but I’d have to climb ladders, and I can’t climb…”(Lauren Bacall)
    http://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2014/08/24/loin-des-yeux-mais-pres-du-coeur-out-of-sight-but-close-to-my-heart/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beautiful photo, Lizzy 🙂 one often says there is no future in the past… but we should not left all the cherished memories too far behind me think… even though I too like to travel light without only the necessary things in my backpack such as smiles, a loving hart and an open mind for others.
    love and hugs from across the creek , my dear friend xoxo

    Like

  3. Life moves on and things change! Sometimes because our emotional side we don’t want to accept the change and we cling on those things trying to hold them as long as we can. But there comes a time when we need to move on. Most of the times you realize it’s actually great and can open new and exciting things in present and for the future.
    Wish you all the best 🙂

    Like

  4. We are a sum of our experiences, but can honor them in letting them go to make room for the new. Often what fills us is something greater than we could have hoped for or thought we deserved. Blessings on this part of your journey…

    Like

  5. So I’m not the only one who does stuff like that! But sometimes you just have to do it to get it out of your system, realize you’ve hobbled yourself once again, then let it go gracefully and otherwise. You were quite graceful about letting it go; I usually am not.

    Right now I’m not quite sure where I’m at. I have definite photography gifts, but it’s more of a means to an end, the end being to get out into nature and enjoy being outside. I’m also content just taking the dog for a walk and being observant. But if I’m not a writer or a photographer, what am I? Besides an accountant who has to make a living, of course. I’m not sure if it’s the end of summer speaking (who wants to sit at a computer when it’s nice outside), some other discontent that’s waiting on some unfolding of the universe, or just a break from the flow.

    In the meantime, the dog is pretty darned happy about it. Not the beagle – his back is too bad – but the Vizsla who needs the stimulation to avoid being destructive anyhow.

    Nancy

    Like

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, Nancy. I know what you mean about getting out into nature, although I’m the opposite to you. It is the photography that gets me outside. I didn’t much care for that before. Now I cant get enough of it. I wouldn’t class myself as a writer or a photographer either, just me following my passions wherever they might lead, and enjoying sharing with others. I hope your dog’s back improves so that he can enjoy walks too. Blessings dear friend –

      Like

  6. True wisdom – it seems to me (and I’m certainly no expert – work very much in progress!!) – is being able to move to pastures new, whilst taking the learning from past experiences. This is not always easy or comfortable, but a necessary part of our development/expansion. The setting sun is the dreaming symbol for “death of the old” – which naturally carries with it melancholy. However, there is always the sun rise next morning! Best wishes, D&Z.

    Like

    • Thank you for the lovely comment. You are so right, dear friend. Thank you also for the dream symbolism of the setting sun. I didn’t know that, so it is very fitting. Blessings 🙂

      Like

  7. This is true if me as well I keep reaching back or looking as if there were anything there that served me well. I heard someone say that a monkey when swinging from vine to vine cannot move forward till he lets go of the one behind! I just compared myself to a monkey but I think sometimes I feel like One! I am right there with you moving forward and embracing our wonderful refreshed and renewed selves! Get some rest you did well! I love this photo as well! 😃Blessings to you!

    Like

  8. It takes wisdom and courage to move forward. Congratulations, Isabella Rose, on exercising both of these gifts! It is a reminder to me to consider what or who I may need to let go of – I don’t like changes…

    Blessings dear friend ~ Wendy

    Like

    • Thank you, Wendy. I know what you mean about changes. They always amount to moving out of one’s comfort zone and that’s not the easiest thing to do. I always try to remember that I don’t have to do it alone. There is always help available from above. We just need to ask for it. At 2.30 this morning, I was asking from my heart. Blessings dear friend. ♥ PS I love your new sites. You are such an inspiration.

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

